Over the past 1010 years, since the autumn of 1010, King Lý Công Uẩn decided to transfer the capital from Hoa Lư to Đại La, then he renamed the new Thăng Long Capital. Since then, a new page has begun in the history of Nùng mountain and Nhị river. Thăng Long means a flying dragon; the name represents the Vietnamese’s aspiration for a developed country.
The capital has been known by many different names, including Thăng Long (1010 - 1397), Đông Đô (1397 - 1407), Đông Kinh (1427 - 1787), Bắc Thành (1787 - 1805), Thăng Long (1805 - 1831), Hà Nội (from 1831). Now, Thăng Long - Hà Nội is an official and most meaningful name ever chosen.
For 1010 years, Thăng Long - Hà Nội has been a witness to many historic events and ups and downs that not only took place on this land but also in other parts of the entire country. From the day when the new capital was established until the end of the eighteenth century, Thăng Long was the capital of Đại Việt country, the center of ĐạiViệt civilization. During the Tây Sơn and Nguyễn dynasties, the capital was transferred to Phú Xuân - Huế, but Hà Nội was still a major cultural and economic center of the country. Under the French domination, Hà Nội was the capital of Indochina Federation. Since the victory of the August Revolution in 1945, Hà Nội was again chosen as the Capital of the Việt Nam by President Hồ Chí Minh and the first National Assembly of the Democratic Republic of Việt Nam. Since 1976, Hanoi has been the Capital of the Socialist Republic of Việt Nam, an independent and united nation.
Thăng Long - Hà Nội has truly become a place where the souls of all rivers and mountains converge. Assuming the role of a capital and then a long-standing capital of the country, Hà Nội has become the center where Vietnamese culture converges and develops, a capital of thousands-of-year civilization, a hero of the nation, a modern and developed capital, and a cultural, political and cultural center of the country.

The Lý dynasty
1010 - 1225

Official name: Đại Cồ Việt; Đại Việt (Since 1054, in the reign of King Lý Thánh Tông)
Capital: Thăng Long
The palace used for King's audiences: Càn Nguyên palace (Since 1030, Thiên An palace)

In the reign of King Lý Công Uẩn and other Lý Kings, a system of royal palaces were built to serve needs of the royal Court. The Thăng Long citadel consisted of three wall-rings, including: Forbidden City, Long Thành (The Imperial Citadel) and La Thành (wider citadel).
To serve needs of royal families, Kings of the Lý dynasty ordered the construction of a large number of royal palaces.

From 1010 to 1225
Mốc lịch sử
1010 năm Thăng Long Capital - Hà Nội